News Release


Riordan-Eva Receives 2023 MPL Association Award of Excellence in Honor of Peter Sweetland

(Rockville, MD, April 21, 2023)—The Medical Professional Liability (MPL) Association has announced that Paul Riordan-Eva, MD will receive the 2023 Award of Excellence in Honor of Peter Sweetland. Dr. Riordan-Eva is being honored for his outstanding contributions and longtime dedication to the MPL insurance community, commitment to successful patient outcomes, and advancement of the next generation of clinical leaders. The MPL Association is the leading international organization representing the medical professional liability insurance community.

Dr. Riordan-Eva is one of the UK’s most respected ophthalmologists and has been in clinical practice since 1983. He is a Fellow of both the Royal College of Ophthalmologists and the Royal College of Surgeons of England. Among his scholarly works are more than 40 peer-reviewed journal articles and 60 medical books for which he is either the principal author or contributing chapter author. His academic work has had tremendous influence on the training and development of many ophthalmic specialist trainees.

In addition to his clinical and academic work, Dr. Riordan-Eva’s commitment to ophthalmic excellence has been fully demonstrated in the medico–legal world where he has been an expert witness in many medical professional liability cases, specializing in visual problems related to optic nerve, neurological, or neurosurgical disease. He has contributed significant service and commitment to the members of the Medical Defence Union (MDU) and has served as a member of the MDU’s Council since 2003, a Board member since 2006, as well as Chair of the Board of Management.

“Paul is a man enormously respected and liked by his peers as well as those he works alongside,” said Dr. Christine Tomkins, Strategic Advisor to the MDU and Vice-chair of the MPL Association. “In a long and distinguished career, his wisdom, dedication, and passion for excellence has improved the lot of both patients and colleagues. He is truly an exemplary member of the medical profession and of the MPL community.”

MPL Association Board Chair John H. Mize, President & CEO, SVMIC, said, “Paul understands the importance of the international MPL community and how we can collaborate to share and learn from others around the world. He has been fully engaged and supportive of the Association’s mission.”

The award will be presented to Dr. Riordan-Eva on May 18 at the MPL Association Conference held in New Orleans.

The MPL Association Award of Excellence in Honor of Peter Sweetland, established in 1993 by the MPL Association’s Board of Directors, was created in honor of the late Peter Sweetland, one of the Association’s chief architects and most fervent supporters. The award recognizes an individual who has provided exemplary service to the industry and to the MPL Association, and who epitomizes the high ideals and ethics for which Peter Sweetland stood.


The MPL Association is the leading international association representing medical professional liability insurance companies, risk retention groups, captives, trusts, and other entities with a commitment to the quality delivery of healthcare. MPL Association members insure nearly 2.5 million healthcare professionals around the world—doctors, dentists, oral surgeons, nurses and nurse practitioners, podiatrists, and other healthcare providers. MPL Association members also insure more than 3,000 hospitals and 50,000 medical facilities and group practices globally.

Cassie Knapp

Vice President of Marketing & Communications

301.947.9000, ext. 1218